Daily management is carried out by the board which changes annually and consists of a group of five students with different study backgrounds. After six months, two masters of ceremony are added to the board. Since 1979 they have successfully put together a lively and very interesting symposium every single year. Two advisory organs provide assistance to the VeerStichting board; the Board of Supervision and the Advisory Committee. The VeerStichting is furthermore assisted by a group of Dutch and Flemish (university) professors that help check the essays and assignments handed in by students.


The VeerStichting Board of 2017-2018

Guy Fabian de Koning – Chairman

Nina Wilmink – Treasurer

David Maters – Creative Director

Vivienne Benard – Participants

Christine Mertens – Marketing & Logistics

Willem van Boven – Master of ceremony

Christine Brutel de la Rivière – Master of ceremony


Board of Supervision

Jacqueline Rijsdijk (Chairman)
Commissioner and director at several institutions

Carel Stolker
Rector Magnificus and Chairman Executive Board of Leiden University

Sietze Hepkema
Member Executive Board SBM Offshore NV

René Hooft Graafland
Former member Executive Board and CFO at Heineken NV, commissioner at several institutions

Manuel Kohnstamm
Senior Vice President and Chief Policy Officer Liberty Global NV

Rudolf Jordaan
Member Executive Committee Egon Zehnder International

Tanja Nagel
Chairman Board of Directors Theodor Gilissen Bankiers

Margot Scheltema
Commissioner and director for several institutions

Zakia Guernina
Commissioner and director for several institutions

Advisory Committee

Lodewijk Dros (Chairman)
Chief ‘Letter & Geest’ of the Dutch newspaper ‘Trouw’

Els van der Plas
General director National Opera & Ballet Amsterdam

Eddy Terstall
Film director and screenwriter

Petra Sijpesteijn
Professor Arabic Language at Leiden University

Mare Nieborg
Futurologist and owner Social Safari: think tank specialised in foreseeing tomorrow’s culture

Jan Middendorp
Member of the House of Representatives of the Netherlands (VVD)

Lennart Booij
Director Amsterdam Light Festival

Marietje Schaake
Member of the European Parliament (D66)

Lamyae Aharouay
Columnist Dutch newspaper ‘NRC Handelsblad’